Sports events 2023 - These are the dates fans don't want to miss

16.01.2023 • Verfasser: Sebastian Cramer

This year, sports fans can look forward to numerous events. Already in January, the Australian Open will be the first big event and the Super Bowl is just around the corner. In this post, we would like to present the most important sports events in 2023. We'll look at three of the biggest events in each quarter and tell you exactly when they'll take place. In addition, you'll find out the dates of competitions that might be interesting for fans of smaller sports. Let's start with the months of January to March! 

January - March: Australian Open, World Handball Championship and Super Bowl

Sportevents 2023
The Super Bowl is one of the biggest sporting events of the year.

The sports year is off to a furious start: The Handball World Championship and the Australian Open are already in full swing. For many fans around the world, the Super Bowl is also a highlight that is eagerly awaited every year. Let's now take a look together at the dates and background to the sporting events that are particularly important in the first quarter of 2023. 

Tennis-Showdown in Down Under

The Australian Open will be held in Melbourne from January 16 to January 29. There are many exciting storylines ahead of the tournament start: Can veteran Rafael Nadal repeat his success from last year or will returnee Novak Djokovic secure his sensational 10th title at Rod Laver Arena? Olympic champion Alexander Zverev will also be back after a long injury layoff. The Australian Open was also marked in the run-up by the absence of some top stars, such as Carlos Alcaraz or Naomi Ōsaka, who recently announced her pregnancy. Nevertheless, numerous top stars will meet and entertain the spectators on site and around the world. 

First Handball World Cup in Poland

While Sweden is hosting a men's handball World Cup for the sixth time, Poland is (co-)hosting the tournament for the first time. So between January 11 and January 29, the world's handball elite will meet. The focus is on world champion Denmark, and France, Spain and host Sweden are also among the favorites. Germany and Norway also have outsider chances, according to the bookmakers.

Super Bowl LVII in Arizona

The 57th Super Bowl takes place on February 12 and marks the highlight of the NFL season, as it does every year. This time, the football spectacle takes place in Glendale, Arizona, at the home stadium of the Arizona Cardinals. This year's favorites include the Buffalo Bills and the Kansas City Chiefs. But the Philadelphia Eagles and the San Francisco 49ers should not be underestimated either. One thing is certain: in 2023, millions of fans around the world will once again be following who secures the coveted Super Bowl rings and the Vince Lombardi Trophy. Music fans will also be well entertained, as Rihanna has already been confirmed as a half-time act.

Other events

In addition to these major events, the following sporting events will take place in the first quarter of 2023:

  • Winter World University Games: January 12 - January 22
  • World Hockey Championship: January 13 - January 29
  • Winter X Games: January 27 - January 29
  • Alpine Ski World Championships: February 6 - February 19
  • Cricket World Cup: February 9 - March 26
  • Nordic World Ski Championships: February 21 - March 5

April - June Golf Masters, Champions League Final and NBA Finals

Masters
In Augusta, the world's best golfers compete for the coveted Green Jacket.

In the second quarter, the action continues at high speed. In Istanbul, Europe's top two teams will battle it out to take the crown of European soccer. In addition, the NBA finals will take place in June. However, it all starts in April with the Masters Championships.

The battle for the Green Jacket

Between April 6 and April 9, the best golfer will be sought for the 87th time on the golf course of the Augusta National Golf Club. Controversially, some golfers who compete for the LIV Golf Association will also receive an invitation. The main sponsor of this association is the sovereign wealth fund of Saudi Arabia. In 2022, Scottie Scheffler was able to secure the coveted Green Jacket. The sensational comeback of golf legend Tiger Woods, who won his fifth title in Augusta in 2019, has also attracted a lot of attention in recent years. 

Who will win the Champions League?

This year's UEFA Champions League final will be held in Istanbul on June 10. Last year, Real Madrid won its 14th title in the Champions League, making the Spanish team by far the most successful in the history of the competition. So in June we'll see whether they take the throne again this year or whether a team from the Bundesliga, Premier League or Ligue 1 wins, where Lionel Messi could celebrate another triumph this season with Paris Saint-Germain after the World Cup title.

Who will succeed the Golden State Warriors?

It is not clear yet who will face each other in the NBA Finals in June. The record champion Boston Celtics are currently leading the Eastern Conference, while the Denver Nuggets are ahead in the Western Conference. However, the Memphis Grizzlies are also in very good form at the moment. Nevertheless, everything could be shaken up in the playoffs when it comes to deciding who will succeed the Golden State Warriors. 

Other events

Other the following sporting eventssporting events taking place in Q2 2023 include:

  • World Snooker Championship:  April 15 - May 1
  • World Ice Hockey Championship: May 12 - May 21
  • World Table Tennis Championships: May 22 - May 28
  • Indianapolis 500: May 28
  • French Open: May 28 - June 11
  • US Open (golf):  June 15 - June 18

July - September: Tour de France, Wimbledon, Women's World Cup and World Track and Field Championships

Tour de France
The Tour de France will take place for the 110th time in 2023.

The summer of sports in 2023 will also be marked by many highlights. The most important sports events of the summer include the Tour de France, the World Championships in Track and Field, and the most prestigious tennis tournament in the world: the Wimbledon Championships. Furthermore, the best female footballers in the world play for the biggest title in women's football! Here you can find out when these events take place.

110th edition of the Tour de France

Despite numerous doping scandals in recent decades, the Tour de France continues to enjoy great popularity among cycling fans. The Tour of France has now been taking place for more than 100 years. This year, the competition runs from July 1 to July 23. Until then, the participants fight for the yellow jersey as well as the point ranking for the best sprinter, the mountain ranking and the young rider ranking. Last year, Jonas Vingegaard was able to secure the overall championship. However, the young Slovenian Tadej Pogačar is fired up for his third overall success after 2020 and 2021. 

Will Djokovic draw even with Federer?

From July 3 to July 16, excitement will once again be the order of the day when the top players in the tennis world meet at Wimbledon. Last year, Yelena Rybakina won the women's tournament and the prize money of £2.000.000. The men's tournament was won by a usual suspect: Novak Djokovic won the tournament for the seventh time. In the final, unfortunately, there was no dream face-off with Rafael Nadal, who had to pull out injured before the semifinals. This year, Djokovic has the chance to break Roger Federer's record and win his eighth title on the London Center Court. 

Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand

Another sporting highlight in the summer of 2023 is the Women's World Cup. The big question is: Can the USA win its third world title in a row or will another nation manage to break through the dominance of the Americans? The tournament runs from July 10 to August 20. It will be the 9th tournament since the inception of the Women's World Cup. For the first time, 32 teams will play for the title and after 2019, the prize money has also been doubled. In Germany, too, many fans will once again be cheering along, as demonstrated by the fact that almost 18 million people watched last year's European Championship final on TV. The match thus achieved the highest viewing figures for a soccer match in 2022.

World Track and Field Championships in Budapest

In a stadium built specifically for the competitions in Budapest, the World Championships of Track and Field Athletes will be held from August 19 to August 27. This means fans only had to wait for one year this time instead of the usual two years, because the last World Championships in Eugene, Oregon last year were actually supposed to be held in 2021. At that time, the USA won the medal race with a clear lead. Highlights included Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, who won her fifth title in the women's 100m. The climax, however, was the world record set by pole vault superstar Armand Duplantis, who cleared the almost unbelievable height of 6.21m, beating the competition by a staggering 27cm. These and other performances give hope that the World Championships will provide unforgettable moments again this year.

Other events

The following sports events the following sporting events will also take place in the summer of 2023:

  • Summer X Games: July 21 - July 25 (tentative)
  • Swimming World Championships: July 14 - July 30
  • World Cycling Championships: August 3 - August 13
  • Basketball World Championships: August 25 - September 10
  • World Rowing Championships: September 3 - September 10
  • Ryder Cup: September 29 - October 1

October - December: World Series, Women's Handball World Cup and Darts World Championship

World Series
The World Series represents the highlight of the baseball year.

Even though the season is coming to an end for many outdoor sports, that doesn't mean there aren't still sporting highlights to come before the end of the year! Among other things, the World Series in baseball will be played. In addition, the Men's World Handball in January will be followed by the Women's World Championship. Furthermore, the Darts World Championship traditionally takes place in London at the turn of the year. 

Which team will ascend the baseball throne?

The exact date for the World Series has not yet been set, but baseball fans will definitely get their money's worth when it is all about the Commissioner's Trophy in October. In 2022, the Houston Astros won the coveted trophy against the Philadelphia Phillies. In the last six years, the Astros have reached the World Series four times, winning it in 2017 as well. Jeremy Peña was also the first rookie to be named Finals Series MVP.

World Handball Championship in Scandinavia

The Women's Handball World Championship will be held from November 30 to December 17. The hosts are Norway, Sweden and Denmark. The tournament has also been awarded to three countries for the first time. Thus, it is a home game for the world champions Norway, who won the tournament in Spain in 2021. This year's World Cup also promises to provide many exciting encounters and, of course, plenty of goals. 

Darts party across the turn of the year

Just recently the last Darts World Championship at Alexandra Palace in London came to an end. "Bully Boy" Michael Smith was crowned the well deserved World Champion in a high class final against Michael van Gerwen which found its spectacular climax in a leg in which van Gerwen missed the 9-darter only by one throw while Smith made it perfect only a few seconds later. The next World Championship will start in December 2023 and last till January 2024 .

Other events

To close the sports year, these events will also take place: 

  • Pan American Games: October 20 - November 5
  • Pacific Games: November 19 - December 1
  • Four Hills Tournament: December 29/30 - January 6/7

Conclusion: Sports Events 2023

All in all, many great sports events await the following sporting eventsus in 2023 as well. No matter what sport you are a fan of, there is something for everyone! For the events where the exact dates are not yet set, more information will follow in the coming weeks and months. If you're still interested in the latest info from professional sports, feel free to check out our other blogposts or follow us on Facebook, Instagram or LinkedIn!

en_USEN
GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

Sportevents 2023 - Diese Termine sollten Fans nicht verpassen

16.01.2023 • Verfasser: Sebastian Cramer

In diesem Jahr können sich Sportfans auf zahlreiche Events freuen. Schon im Januar gibt es mit den Australian Open den ersten Paukenschlag und auch bis zum Super Bowl ist es nicht mehr lang. In diesem Post möchten wir euch dementsprechend die wichtigsten Sportevents 2023 vorstellen. Dabei gehen wir jeweils auf drei der größten Events in jedem Quartal ein und informieren euch darüber, wann genau diese stattfinden. Außerdem erfahrt ihr die Termine von Wettbewerben, die für Fans von kleineren Sportarten interessant sein könnten. Los geht’s mit den Monaten Januar bis März! 

Januar - März: Australian Open, Handball-WM und Super Bowl

Sportevents 2023
Der Super Bowl ist eines der größten Sportevents des Jahres.

Das Sportjahr startet furios: Die Handball-WM und die Australian Open sind bereits im vollen Gange. Für viele Fans weltweit ist außerdem der Super Bowl ein Highlight, auf das jedes Jahr hingefiebert wird. Werfen wir nun gemeinsam einen Blick auf die Termine und Hintergründe der Sportevents, die im ersten Quartal 2023 besonders wichtig sind. 

Tennis-Showdown in Down Under

Die Australian Open finden vom 16. Januar bis zum 29. Januar in Melbourne statt. Vor dem Turnierstart gibt es viele spannende Storylines: Kann Altmeister Rafael Nadal seinen Erfolg aus dem Vorjahr wiederholen oder wird Rückkehrer Novak Djokovic sich den sensationellen 10. Titel in der Rod Laver Arena sichern? Auch Olympiasieger Alexander Zverev wird nach langer Verletzungspause wieder mit dabei sein. Geprägt wurden die Australian Open im Vorfeld zudem von den Ausfällen einiger Topstars, wie Carlos Alcaraz oder Naomi Ōsaka, die kürzlich ihre Schwangerschaft verkündete. Trotzdem werden zahlreiche Topstars aufeinandertreffen und die Zuschauer vor Ort und auf der ganzen Welt unterhalten. 

Erste Handball-WM in Polen

Während Schweden bereits zum sechsten Mal eine Handball-WM der Herren ausrichtet, ist Polen zum ersten Mal (Co-)Gastgeber des Turniers. Zwischen dem 11. Januar und dem 29. Januar trifft also die Weltelite des Handballs aufeinander. Im Fokus stehen Weltmeister Dänemark und auch Frankreich, Spanien und Gastgeber Schweden zählen zu den Favoriten. Deutschland und Norwegen haben laut den Buchmachern ebenfalls Außenseiterchancen.

Super Bowl LVII in Arizona

Der 57. Der Super Bowl findet am 12. Februar statt und markiert wie jedes Jahr den Höhepunkt der NFL-Season. Das Football-Spektakel findet diesmal in Glendale, Arizona statt, im Heimstadion der Arizona Cardinals. Zu den Favoriten zählen in diesem Jahr die Buffalo Bills und die Kansas City Chiefs. Aber auch die Philadelphia Eagles und die  San Francisco 49ers sind nicht zu unterschätzen. Sicher ist, dass auch 2023 wieder Millionen Fans weltweit mitverfolgen werden, wer sich die begehrten Super Bowl Ringe und die Vince Lombardi Trophy sichert. Musikfans werden ebenfalls gut unterhalten, da Rihanna bereits als Half-Time-Act bestätigt wurde.

Weitere Events

Neben diesen Großevents finden folgende Sportevents im ersten Quartal 2023 statt:

  • Winter World University Games: 12. Januar – 22. Januar
  • Hockey-Weltmeisterschaft: 13. Januar – 29. Januar
  • Winter X Games: 27. Januar – 29. Januar
  • Alpine Ski-Weltmeisterschaften: 6. Februar – 19. Februar
  • Cricket-WM: 9. Februar – 26. März
  • Nordische Ski-WM: 21. Februar – 5. März

April - Juni: Golf Masters, Champions League Finale und NBA Finals

Masters
In Augusta spielen die besten Golfer der Welt um das begehrte Green Jacket.

Im zweiten Quartal geht es in hohem Tempo weiter. In Istanbul werden die beiden besten Mannschaften Europas darum kämpfen, sich die Krone des europäischen Fußballs aufzusetzen. Außerdem finden im Juni die Finalspiele der NBA statt. Los geht es jedoch im April mit den Masters Championships.

Der Kampf um das Green Jacket

Zwischen dem 6. April und dem 9. April wird zum 87. Mal der beste Golfer auf dem Golfplatz des Augusta National Golf Club gesucht. Kontrovers diskutiert ist, dass auch einige Golfer, die für den Verband LIV Golf starten, eine Einladung erhalten. Hauptsponsor dieses Verbands ist der Staatsfonds von Saudi-Arabien. 2022 konnte Scottie Scheffler sich das begehrte Green Jacket sichern. Viel beachtet war in den letzten Jahren außerdem das sensationelle Comeback von Golf-Legende Tiger Woods, der 2019 seinen fünften Titel in Augusta gewann. 

Wer gewinnt den Henkelpott?

Das diesjährige Finale der UEFA Champions League findet am 10. Juni in Istanbul statt. Im letzten Jahr holte sich Real Madrid den insgesamt 14. Titel in der Königsklasse, was die Spanier mit Abstand zum Rekordsieger macht. Im Juni werden wir also sehen, ob sie in diesem Jahr wieder den Thron besteigen oder ob eine Mannschaft aus der Bundesliga, Premier League oder der Ligue 1 gewinnt, wo Lionel Messi mit Paris Saint-Germain nach dem WM-Titel einen weiteren Triumph in dieser Saison feiern könnte.

Wer folgt auf die Golden State Warriors?

Noch steht nicht fest, wer im Juni bei den NBA Finals aufeinander trifft. Rekordmeister Boston Celtics führt aktuell die Eastern Conference an, während die Denver Nuggets in der Western Conference die Nase vorn haben. Aber auch die Memphis Grizzlies sind zur Zeit sehr formstark. Allerdings könnte in den Playoffs noch einmal alles durcheinandergewürfelt werden, wenn es darum geht, wer die Nachfolge der Golden State Warriors antritt. 

Weitere Events

Zu den weiteren Sportevents, die im 2. Quartal 2023 stattfinden, zählen:

  • Snooker-WM:  15. April – 1. Mai
  • Eishockey-WM: 12. Mai – 21. Mai
  • Tischtennis-WM: 22. Mai – 28. Mai
  • Indianapolis 500: 28. Mai
  • French Open: 28. Mai – 11. Juni
  • US Open (Golf):  15. Juni – 18. Juni

Juli - September: Tour de France, Wimbledon und Leichtathletik-WM

Tour de France
Die Tour de France findet 2023 bereits zum 110. Mal statt.

Der Sportsommer ist auch 2023 von Höhepunkten geprägt. Zu den wichtigsten Sportveranstaltungen des Sommers zählen die Tour de France, die Leichtathletik-WM sowie das prestigeträchtigste Tennisturnier der Welt: die Wimbledon Championships. Hier erfahrt ihr, wann diese Events jeweils stattfinden.

110. Ausgabe der Tour de France

Trotz zahlreicher Doping-Skandale in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten erfreut sich die Tour de France nach wie vor großer Beliebtheit bei Radsportfans. Bereits seit mehr als 100 Jahren findet die Frankreich-Rundfahrt nun schon statt. In diesem Jahr läuft der Wettbewerb vom 1. Juli bis zum 23. Juli. Bis dahin kämpfen die Teilnehmer um das Gelbe Trikot sowie um die Punktewertung für den besten Sprinter, die Bergwertung und die Nachwuchswertung. Im letzten Jahr konnte sich Jonas Vingegaard die Gesamtwertung sichern. Der junge Slowene Tadej Pogačar ist jedoch heiß auf seinen insgesamt dritten Erfolg nach 2020 und 2021. 

Zieht Djokovic mit Federer gleich?

Vom 3. Juli bis zum 16. Juli ist wieder Spannung angesagt, wenn die Topspieler der Tenniswelt in Wimbledon aufeinandertreffen. Im Vorjahr gewann Jelena Rybakina das Damenturnier und das Preisgeld von £2.000.000. Bei den Herren siegte ein üblicher Verdächtiger: Novak Djokovic konnte bereits zum siebten Mal das Turnier gewinnen. Im Finale kam es leider nicht zum Traum-Duell mit Rafael Nadal, welcher vor dem Halbfinale verletzt aussteigen musste. In diesem Jahr hat Djokovic somit die Chance, den Rekord von Roger Federer einzustellen und seinen achten Titel auf dem Londoner Center Court zu holen. 

Fußball-WM der Frauen in Australien und Neuseeland

Ein weiteres sportliches Highlight im Sommer 2023 ist die Fußball-WM der Frauen. Die große Frage dabei ist: Können die USA ihren dritten Weltmeistertitel in Serie holen oder schafft es eine andere Nation, die Dominanz der Amerikanerinnen zu durchbrechen? Das Turnier läuft vom 10. Juli bis zum 20. August. Seit der Einführung der Weltmeisterschaft der Frauen ist es das 9. Turnier. Erstmals spielen 32 Teams um den Titel und nach 2019 wurde außerdem das Preisgeld verdoppelt. Auch in Deutschland werden wieder viele Fans mitfiebern, was auch daran erkennbar ist, dass fast 18 Mio. Menschen das EM-Finale im letzten Jahr am Fernseher mitverfolgten. Somit erreichte das Spiel die höchste Einschaltquote für ein Fußballspiel im Jahr 2022.

Leichtathletik-WM in Budapest

In einem eigens für die Wettkämpfe gebauten Stadion in Budapest findet die Weltmeisterschaft der Leichtathleten vom 19. August bis zum 27. August statt. Damit mussten Fans diesmal nur ein Jahr anstatt der üblichen zwei Jahre warten, denn die letzte WM in Eugene, Oregon im letzten Jahr sollte eigentlich schon 2021 ausgetragen werden. Damals konnten die USA mit deutlichem Vorsprung den Medaillenspiegel gewinnen. Für Highlights sorgte unter anderem Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, die bereits ihren fünften Titel über die 100m der Frauen holen konnte. Den Höhepunkt stellte jedoch der Weltrekord von Stabhochsprung-Superstar Armand Duplantis dar, der die schier unglaubliche Höhe von 6,21 m überwand und damit die Konkurrenz um sagenhafte 27 cm übertraf. Diese und weitere Leistungen lassen darauf hoffen, dass die WM auch in diesem Jahr wieder für unvergessliche Momente sorgt.

Weitere Events

Im Sommer 2023 finden außerdem folgende Sportevents statt:

  • Summer X Games: 21. Juli – 25. Juli (vorläufiger Zeitraum)
  • Schwimm-WM: 14. Juli – 30. Juli
  • Radsport-Weltmeisterschaften: 3. August – 13. August
  • Basketball-WM: 25. August – 10. September
  • Ruder-WM: 3. September – 10. September
  • Ryder Cup: 29. September – 1. Oktober

Oktober - Dezember: World Series, Handball-WM der Frauen und Darts World Championship

World Series
Die World Series stellt den Höhepunkt des Baseball-Jahres dar.

Auch wenn für viele Freiluftsportarten die Saison zu Ende geht, heißt das nicht, dass bis zum Ende des Jahres nicht noch sportliche Highlights auf uns zukommen! Unter anderem wird die World Series im Baseball ausgespielt. Außerdem folgt nach der Handball-WM der Männer im Januar auch die der Frauen. Des Weiteren findet traditionell die Darts World Championship über den Jahreswechsel in London statt. 

Welches Team besteigt den Baseball-Thron?

Der exakte Termin für die World Series steht zwar noch nicht, aber wenn es im Oktober um die Commissioner’s Trophy geht, werden Baseball-Fans auf jeden Fall auf ihre Kosten kommen. Im Jahr 2022 gewannen die Houston Astros die begehrte Trophäe gegen die Philadelphia Phillies. In den letzten sechs Jahren konnten die Astros vier mal die World Series erreichen und gewannen diese 2017 ebenfalls. Jeremy Peña war außerdem der erste Rookie, der als MVP der Finalserie ausgezeichnet wurde.

Handball-WM in Skandinavien

Die Handball Weltmeisterschaft der Frauen findet vom 30. November bis zum 17. Dezember statt. Gastgeber sind Norwegen, Schweden und Dänemark. Das Turnier urde zudem erstmals an drei Länder vergeben. Somit ist es ein Heimspiel für die Weltmeisterinnen Norwegen, die 2021 das Turnier in Spanien gewannen. Auch die WM in diesem Jahr verspricht wieder für viele packende Begegnungen und natürlich jede Menge Tore zu sorgen. 

Darts-Party über den Jahreswechsel

Gerade erst ist die letzte Darts World Championship im Alexandra Palace in London zu Ende gegangen. “Bully Boy” Michael Smith krönte sich zum verdienten Weltmeister in einem hochklassigen Finale gegen Michael van Gerwen, welches seinen spektakulären Höhepunkt in einem Leg fand, in dem van Gerwen den 9-Darter nur um einen Wurf verfehlte während Smith ihn nur wenige Sekunden später perfekt machte. Die nächste Weltmeisterschaft wird im Dezember 2023 beginnen und bis Januar 2024 andauern.

Weitere Events

Zum Abschluss des Sportjahres finden außerdem diese Veranstaltungen statt: 

  • Pan American Games: 20. Oktober – 5. November
  • Pacific Games: 19. November – 1. Dezember
  • Vierschanzentournee: 29./30. Dezember – 6./7. Januar

Fazit: Sportevents 2023

Alles in allem erwarten uns auch 2023 viele tolle Sportevents. Egal von welcher Sportart man Fan ist, für jeden ist etwas dabei! Für die Events, bei denen die genauen Daten noch nicht feststehen, folgen weitere Informationen in den nächsten Wochen und Monaten. Wenn du weiterhin an aktuellen Infos aus dem Profisport interessiert bist, schau gerne in unsere anderen Blogposts oder folge uns auf Facebook, Instagram oder LinkedIn!

de_DEDE
GDPR Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner